Sculptress by Nicole Lizée

From the Arraymusic Concert Formless

Colleen Cook, bass clarinet
Richard Sacks, percussion
David Schotzko, marimba
Stephen Clarke, piano, clavinet
Stephen Sitarski, violin
Lydia Munchinsky, cello

Called a “brilliant musical scientist” and lauded for “creating a stir with listeners for her breathless imagination and ability to capture Gen-X and beyond generation”, JUNO

-nominated composer and video artist Nicole Lizée creates new work from an eclectic mix of influences including turntablism, glitch, rave culture, Hitchcock, Kubrick, and 1960s psychedelia.

Her commission list of over 50 works includes the Kronos Quartet, BBC Proms, San Francisco Symphony, National Arts Centre Orchestra, Toronto Symphony Orchestra, NYC’s Kaufman Center, So Percussion, and Eve Egoyan. Her music has been performed worldwide in venues including Carnegie Hall and the Royal Albert Hall – and in festivals including the BBC Proms (UK), Roskilde (Denmark), Bang On a Can (USA), Classical:NEXT (Rotterdam), All Tomorrow’s Parties (UK), Barbican’s Sound Unbound (UK), Metropolis (Australia), Luminato (Canada), and Dark Music Days (Iceland).

Nicole was awarded the prestigious 2013 Canada Council for the Arts Jules Léger Prize for New Chamber Music. She is a 2016 Lucas Artists Fellow (California) and 2010 Civitella Ranieri Foundation Fellow (New York City/Italy). In 2015 she was selected by composer Howard Shore to be his protégée as part of the Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards. Additional awards and nominations include a Prix Opus, an Images Festival Award, a Dora Mavor Moore Award in Opera, the UNESCO International Rostrum of Composers’ Top 10 List, two Prix collégien de musique contemporaine, and the Canada Council Robert Fleming Prize for achievements in composition.

Sculptress is an ode to Delia Derbyshire and the BBC Radiophonic Workshop of the 1960s: those pioneers who would haunt the BBC at night crafting otherwordly soundscapes that would forever transform the ears and minds of radio listeners everywhere.

Comments are closed.