York U Electronic Orchestra

York U Electronic Orchestra

Published on 18 Feb 2016


Low-fi video adds a surreal nature to this very trippy ambient music.

The York Electro-Acoustic Orchestra (dir. Doug Van Nort) is an ensemble comprised of a mixture of acoustic and electronic performers. It is an emergent sonic organism that evolves through collective attention to all facets of sound, and improvisational practice. Based at York University, the YEAO performs a range of pieces by its members, invited guest artists and from the experimental music repertoire. Current members are David Bandi, Christopher Cerpnjak, Carlos De Leon, Peter Ellman, Rory Hoy, Ian Jarvis, Alexander Laurie, Kieran Maraj, Caleb Martin, Mark Mcgugan and Michael Palumbo.

Your University faculty Doug Van Nort brings a group of students to the Array Space. Doug is an experimental musician and sound artist/researcher whose work is dedicated to the creation of immersive and visceral sonic experiences, and to fostering personal and collective creative expression through composition, installation, workshops, free improvisation and generally electro-acoustic means of production. His instruments are self-made and idiosyncratic systems that explore a sculptural approach to working with sound, and improvisation in partnership with machine processes. His source materials include any and all sounds discovered through attentive listening to the world.


Comments are closed.